Skip to content

Discord Outage Resolved After Unusually High Traffic Spikes

Instant messaging platform Discord experienced a widespread outage on Friday morning, September 29, 2023, due to unusually high traffic spikes. The outage lasted for several hours, but Discord has since resolved the issue and users are able to access the platform again.

Discord Outage Fixed After Major Traffic Spikes

Discord, the popular instant messaging platform, experienced a widespread outage on Friday morning, September 29, 2023. The outage began at around 6 AM ET/3 AM PT and lasted for several hours. During the outage, users were unable to access the Discord app or website.

Discord attributed the outage to "unusually high traffic spikes." The company said that it was working to mitigate the issue and restore service as quickly as possible.

In a statement posted to its status page, Discord said:

We're experiencing unusual traffic spikes that lead to users being temporary blocked and we're working on mitigating this issue.

Discord eventually resolved the issue and users were able to access the platform again by around 10 AM ET/7 AM PT.

The cause of the unusual traffic spikes is still unknown. However, it is possible that they were caused by a combination of factors, such as a major game release, a popular streamer hosting a live event, or a coordinated attack on Discord's servers.

Discord outages are relatively rare, but they do happen from time to time. In 2022, Discord experienced a two-day outage that affected millions of users.

Discord has apologized for the outage and said that it is working to improve its infrastructure to prevent future outages from happening.

Conclusion:

Discord has resolved the widespread outage that occurred on September 29, 2023. The outage was caused by unusually high traffic spikes, and the company is working to improve its infrastructure to prevent future outages.

Latest