Skip to content

Snapchat+ Surpasses 4 Million Paid Subscribers, Announces Upcoming Features

Snapchat+ subscription service reports 4 million paid users in its first year. The platform reveals two upcoming features, 'Expressive Chat Messages' and 'Custom Chat Colors'.

Snapchat+ Hits 4 Million Paid Subscribers

Snapchat today announced that its Snapchat+ subscription service has attained 4 million paid subscribers in the first year since its launch. The company also unveiled two forthcoming features that subscribers will soon enjoy.

The first of these new features is "Expressive Chat Messages," which will enable users to send messages in larger font sizes. The second feature, "Custom Chat Colors," will allow users to choose the color of their name in chats. At present, Snapchat displays user names in red as a default in chats, but subscribers will soon be able to pick the exact color they prefer for their names.

This recent achievement follows Snapchat's report in April that its subscription service had reached 3 million paid users. Since its launch in June 2022, Snapchat+ hit the 1 million subscriber mark by August and the 2 million subscriber mark by February.

Despite showing steady growth, the current subscriber number represents only a small fraction of the app's 375 million daily active users.

Snapchat+ has introduced several significant features since its launch, such as the AI-powered chatbot "My AI." Initially available only to subscribers, the company later offered the chatbot for free to all users. Nevertheless, Snapchat has announced exclusive My AI perks for subscribers, including a new generative AI feature. This feature enables Snapchat+ subscribers to send Snaps of their activities and receive a generative Snap in return from the in-app chatbot.

For $3.99 per month, Snapchat+ subscribers receive access to experimental and pre-release features, custom app themes, unique app icons, the ability to pin their No. 1 BFF, and more. The subscription service is available in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.